Home » Latest News » Korean Formula 1 Grand Prix ends in spectacular result for Ferrari

Korean Formula 1 Grand Prix ends in spectacular result for Ferrari

An historic and very long race in Korea came to an end in the dark with a great result for Ferrari and opening the Formula 1 championship up yet again!

All seemed to be going Red Bull’s way as heavy rain meant a re-start of the race after being red flagged for 50 minutes. The re-start was under the safety car With plenty of laps behind the fantastic Mercedes AMG SLS. Once the safety car entered the pit lane Vettel set out to stretch his lead at the new Yeongam circuit.

With accidents and mistakes gradually reducing the field Vettel had the race in hand. The Championship looked even closer after a mistake on the wet kerb sent his team mate Mark Webber spinning into the wall and forcing Nico Rosberg to retire in fourth place on lap 19.

Behind the leader Alonso, Hamilton and Massa closed in and an pit stop by Lewis looked like he had leap-frogged the Ferrari of Alonso. A mistake by the Mclaren driver meant Alonso maintained his second position.

Nine laps before the chequered flag Vettel’s Renault engine blew in spectacular fashion forcing the Red Bull driver to park up and watch the Ferrari of Alonso lead the remaining cars to the finish line.

Michael Schumacher came home in fourth place at the end of a thrilling inaugural Korean Grand Prix in Yeongam.

Lotus Racing’s Heikki Kovalainen took advantage of this incident packed race to finish in 13th place. Team mate JarnoTrulli’s race again came to an early conclusion with hydraulic issues on lap 25, but the team now head to Brazil still at the head of the new teams after some excellent work on and off track all weekend.

Provisional race result: (all timing unofficial)

1. Alonso Ferrari 2h48:20.810

2. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes +14.999

3. Massa Ferrari +30.868

4. Schumacher Mercedes +39.688

5. Kubica Renault +47.734

6. Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes +53.571

7. Barrichello Williams-Cosworth +1:09.257

8. Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari +1:17.889

9. Heidfeld Sauber-Ferrari +1:20.107

10. Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth +1:20.851

11. Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari +1:24.146

12. Button McLaren-Mercedes +1:29.939


Lost your password?
%d bloggers like this: